DIY Cupcake Stands

So my best friend was getting married and asked me to be her MOH, which in turn also means ‘throw me a hen’s party’!! I love event and party planning so was really in my element organising her the perfect hen’s party.

We had planned to start off doing a ‘high tea’ to begin the debauchery – I had everything all planned – delicate pots of tea, gorgeous teacups, pretty lanterns hanging in the garden, bubbly flowing, club sandwiches, little cupcakes, cute lamingtons.. OK you get the idea!  All was turning out perfectly till I realised I need some cupcake stands, and wasn’t prepared to spend the $40+ the shops were asking for, for 1 stand!  I scored the internet and found some great ideas to make my own stands. Perfect – I was on holidays off work and had every bit of time to make these stands.

You will need the following items – most of these can be found at cheap $2 type shops or hardware shops

  • x3 different sized cake boards (I used cardboard for the base as I couldn’t find big enough cake boards – this worked fine)
  • x2 cake dummies – I actually used those polystyrene blocks that are used to hold fake flowers up
  • Ribbon to wrap around the cake dummies (or polystyrene blocks)
  • Pins (I used the pins to hold the ribbon in place while I wrapped it around the polystyrene blocks)
  • Strong Glue
  • Wrapping paper (get some funky designs, this is to stick to the top of the cake boards and ultimately give you the design you want for your cake stands)
  • Craft knife
  • TIME!!

So there you go, not a hell of a lot of things to buy really.  Here we go:

Cut out the cardboard using a craft knife (if you are using) – I actually used a hubcap from a car tyre to get the round circle shape, it was the only big thing I could find.

I used cardboard circle cutout for the base of my cake stand

Line up your cake boards and lay flat onto your choice of wrapping paper, i used pink wrapping paper with small yellow flowers.  Trace around the circles then cut out the wrapping paper using a craft knife and glue to the boards.

Lie the boards flat down on the wrapping paper

While the glue is drying on your boards – wrap some ribbon around the polystyrene blocks (or cake dummies), I glued mine as I went using pins to hold the ribbon in place, see pic

Ribbon around the blocks

all your supplies

Now the glue should be dry on your cake boards

3 cake boards ready to stack

place the polystyrene block (or cake dummy) on top of the largest board (this will be the base of your stand) and glue down with strong glue

Place the blocks on the bottom board and glue down

Repeat this action with the next cake board and block, finishing up with the last small cake board for the top stand.

I tidied the stand up by wrapping ribbon around the circles to hide the cardboard.

Wahla final product!

finished result!

Totally finished product!

The party went off without a hitch and everyone loved the stands – give this a go it’s a lot of fun and will bring the ‘wow’s!!

Enjoy xo

3 responses

  1. A secondary theater tickets on broadway nyc is one of the founding members left soon after.
    They generally have secure servers through which the customers can pay using their
    credit cards had been declined and they must instead send a cheque for theater tickets on
    broadway nyc he never received, police said.

Leave a comment